top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarry

Sticks and Beats: Legendary Drummer GREGORY HUTCHINSON Releases New Album 'Da Bang'!

The album "Da Bang" by Gregory Hutchinson is a musical work that confidently explores the connections between different genres and generations. This album is a clear example of how music can bring us together, transcending cultural, gender, and musical boundaries. Gregory Hutchinson is a musician who is inspired by various musical influences from his childhood, and his music blends elements of classical hip-hop, soul, R&B, reggae, and calypso. All these diverse sources of inspiration serve as the foundation for the "Da Bang" album. Gregory creates amazing rhythms and percussive textures that give the music a unique pulse and sound. His drumming is not just an accompaniment to other instruments, it is an integral part of the musical narrative, giving each composition its own character and mood.

Each drumbeat by Gregory Hutchinson is a precise and emotional expression of his musical soul. He tells a story through rhythm and percussion, captivating the listener in a whirlwind of musical passion and inspiration. It is his drum compositions that make each track on the album "Da Bang" even more impressive and unforgettable. Every note on this album carries its own meaning, and each performance is a dialogue among talented musicians. This process requires exceptional skill and a deep understanding of music, and Gregory Hutchinson is an excellent example of such mastery. His music blends seamlessly with jazz and contemporary aesthetics, creating a unique sonic space.

The album "Da Bang" is also impressive with its remarkable list of guests, including outstanding musicians like James Poyser, Ray Angry, and Nicholas Payton. Their contributions add an extra layer of depth and complexity to the album, creating true musical brilliance. Each track on this album is like a separate star in the musical sky, and together they form an impressive musical cosmos worth exploring again and again. Opening with the track "Straight from the Heart (feat. Leona Berlin, Karriem Riggins)," the album instantly transports you to a new sonic dimension. This track combines contemporary hip-hop with jazz sophistication and refined synthesizers, creating a unique atmosphere of pleasure and intrigue. I rarely make such statements, but "Da Bang" is an innovative work of art capable of rewriting the history of music and introducing vibrant new shades to the world of sound.

The track "Angels Around" delivers an incredible auditory experience, as if it sweeps you away into a whirlwind of musical delight. The perfect blend of rhythm, percussion instruments, and guitar playing creates a vivid and rich musical landscape, while Leona Berlin's vocals are like an angelic choir, capturing your attention and carrying you into musical enchantment. The track "My Turn Now" takes us through dark shades and emotional depths. It's music that explores jazz soul and hip-hop rhythm, adding depth with minor notes and textured rock guitars. The album's team masterfully combines creative inspiration from the past with their own fresh ideas, making them one of the most respected groups in the new wave of the old school.

The track "Losing You" is like a powerful wind, dispersing the darkest clouds and bringing us an incredible sonic adventure. It combines Leona Berlin's tender vocals with a hypnotic rhythm, creating music that changes your perception and immerses you in an alternative reality. The track "Blow Your Mind / Let's Take It Back" becomes a bridge to this new world of sounds and ideas. It holds the promise of something greater than just music. It's a moment when sounds become architects of a new reality where rules no longer exist, and all possibilities are open. In this track, the artists show their boldness and accept the challenge to rewrite the notes and melodies.

In the track "When They're Gone," the slow soulful vocals guide us through the foggy night streets of the city, offering a melancholic and touching experience. Textured arrangements with smoky synthesizers immerse us in introspection, and psychedelic harmonies create a dark and somber atmosphere. This track is inspired by Gregory Hutchinson's divorce and the departure of jazz trumpeter Wallace Roney, who passed away at the age of 59 due to COVID, as well as the tragic death of Kobe Bryant, who, like Hutchinson, was a devoted father.

The album concludes with the track "Fly Away," and it's the perfect culmination not only of the album but of an entire chapter in Gregory Hutchinson's musical history. It reflects a life journey, a fusion of genres, eras, times, and styles that the musician has absorbed. The bright conclusion of the album with seductive saxophone, Gregory's impeccable drumming, Nicholas Payton's tender and smoky vocals, and melodic guitars creates a sense of renewal, forward motion, and a fresh start. This track is simply infused with an atmosphere that fills the soul with joy, happiness, and a moment of pure enjoyment.


It's difficult for me to even compare it to anything else! Listening to this album challenges your perception, much like great individuals, whether they were writers or scientists, challenged questions of morality and human nature. "Da Bang" is an art that transcends genre or style boundaries and explores the very essence of music and its ability to change the world and our perceptions of it. Gregory Hutchinson is a genius! His drumsticks are like pens in the hands of a master, magical tools he uses to craft his musical poetry. He takes them in hand, much like a writer takes a pen, and begins to compose sonic verses. The drums become the blank sheet of paper on which he writes his musical masterpieces. Every beat on the drums is like a stroke of the pen on the page. It's as if he's creating sonic masterpieces right on this unusual canvas. Yes, my friends, the album "Da Bang" will leave an indelible mark on your soul and make you ponder the role music plays in our lives and how it can change the world around us.

Connect with Gregory Hutchinson via Instagram

Latest posts

ite Cover.png






  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Spotify


bottom of page